thoughts of an autistic child- I wrote this from my son’s perspective

I am your sunshine
Even when are you see are clouds
Don’t believe them when they say I’m in the dark
Just because they can’t see my light
My love for you speaks in a million ways
I know it’s hard for you when all you want to do is help me
I want you to know I am learning and discovering
I have a whole world in my head just waiting
For you to explore
I just don’t know to let you in
I may seem silent
But inside I am screaming for you
I just want them to see the me
That you see
You see past the labels, setbacks and triumphs
You see my goofy side
You see my daredevil attitude
You see my compassionate side
You always hold me close
Hug me tight and wipe the tears away
You always listen
You are always helping me grow
The world that is in my mind
You encourage me
I love when you tickle me with your pony tail
I love when we dance with the radio on
I love playing silly games with you
You are wonder woman
It bothers me to see your tears
I know you worry about my future
But I want you to know everything will be fine
I love my exercises
And how you help out with them
I love our walks and late night talks
When it’s just you and me
Even though I don’t always answer
Please keep asking me about my day
Most important
I want you to know how much I love you
I want you to know you are my Wonder Woman
And I am your Spiderman

Leave a comment